Awards Program

Women of Achievement Recognized by The Women’s International Study Center

A program of awards has been established to recognize women of achievement, “past, present and future”. The “Past” awards are posthumous, and recognize women of the past for their achievements. The “Present” lifetime achievement awards recognize the accomplishments of today’s women. The first of these, the Founder’s Award, was presented to the author, journalist and biographer Gail Sheehy as part of The Founding on June 23, 2013. The “Future” awards honor young artists, scientists, historians, preservationists or businesswomen who, early in their careers, have made remarkable contributions and show great promise. This program is designed to recognize the continuum of women’s achievements – looking to the past for inspiration, to the present for affirmation, and to a future of aspiration and promise.

Founders’ Award

2017 Tarja Halonen and Halla Tómasdóttir
2016 Ellen Malcolm
2015 The National Museum of Women in the Arts, accepted on behalf of the museum by Director Susan Fisher Sterling
2014 Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
2013 Gail Sheehy